Login to NMLS
Skip Navigation Links
Criminal Background Check
Credit Report

 Uniform State Test (UST) Implementation Information 

The Stand-alone UST is no longer available for enrollment.  Individuals who did not enroll in the Stand-alone UST by March 31, 2014 and are seeking licensure in a state that has adopted the UST will be required to take the National Test with Uniform State Content.


On April 1, 2013 NMLS launched the Uniform State Test or UST. This is the first major change to SAFE MLO Test requirements since the SAFE MLO tests were launched in July, 2009.

The UST is a new domain or section in the National Test. This new domain includes 25 questions which brings the length of the National Test Component  with Uniform State Content to 125 questions, of which 115 are scored and ten are un-scored.  See table below for more details on the features of the test components.

The UST material tests applicants on their knowledge of high level state-related content that is based on the SAFE Act and the CSBS/AARMR Model State Law (MSL) which many states used to implement the SAFE Act. The content outline for the new National Test Component with Uniform State Content, and the Stand-alone UST including references, can be found here

The UST replaces the state-specific test components for the states that adopt it.  Therefore, by passing the National with Uniform State Content or the Stand-alone UST, a candidate satisfies the testing requirements for licensure in those adopting states, and any states that adopt in the future.

As of July 1, 2014, 41 state mortgage agencies have adopted the UST.  The remaining state agencies may elect to adopt the UST at a future date, but they are not required to do so. State agencies which choose not to adopt the UST will continue to require applicants to take and pass the current state specific test components. For a list of state agencies that have adopted the UST, see the UST Adoption Map and Table.


 Test Feature Chart

 Test Component # Items Test Length Appointment Length Test Fees
National Test Component with Uniform State Content

125 total;

115 scored

190 minutes 225 minutes $110
State Test Components

55 - 65 total;

45 - 55 scored

 90 minutes 120 minutes $69
Stand-alone UST (Retired)

25 total;

all scored

45 minutes 75 minutes $33

Each test appointment includes an additional 30-35 minutes for completing a tutorial and an optional candidate exit survey.

Test enrollment fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. For more details, please review Section 4.1 Appointment Changes in the MLO Testing Handbook.

Test Enrollment

New Applicants or existing licensees who expect to enroll and/or take any SAFE MLO tests should review these candidate enrollment scenarios. 

Test Enrollment Chart

 Test Component Enrollment Availability Enrollment Eligibility Testing Requirements Met
National Test with Uniform State Content Available for enrollment April 1, 2013, with no end date. All candidates who have not yet met the National test requirement. Meets National Test requirements for all state mortgage agencies. Also meets state-specific test requirements for state agencies that have adopted the UST.
State Test Component(s) States adopting UST-no longer available for enrollment as of adoption date. All others are currently available for enrollment. All candidates who have not previously passed that specific state test component. Meets state-specific test requirement for each jurisdiction where MLO intends to hold a license.
Stand-alone UST (Retired) No longer available for enrollment as of April 1, 2014. No longer available for enrollment as of April 1, 2014. Meets state-specific requirement for state agencies that have adopted the UST.

Stand-alone Uniform State Test (UST)

For a limited time, between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2014, a special test component, called the Stand-alone UST, was available for enrollment for anyone who had previously passed the retired National Test. 

The Stand-alone UST is no longer available for enrollment.  Candidates who enrolled before April 1, 2014 will have the usual 180-day window to schedule and take the test.  After April 1, 2014, licensees who have not enrolled for the Stand-alone UST will need to take and pass the National Test Component with Uniform State Content if they need to meet the state testing requirement for states that have adopted the UST.

This component is made up of 25 scored questions on Uniform State Content and satisfies the state testing requirements for all states who adopt the UST.  For states who may adopt in the future, passing the UST automatically satisfies the requirements for those states on the date of their adoption.  For instance, Nevada adopted on January 1, 2014. If candidates passed the UST on October 15, 2013, they would have satisfied the state testing requirements for Nevada on January 1, 2014.

For details on how the Stand-alone UST is being scored, please see Scoring of the Stand-alone UST .

The results of the Stand-alone UST will not replace the previous National Test result; the individual’s combined score and final result will be added to the NMLS record and displayed in the testing record as “SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test - National Component with Uniform State Content.” 



©2014 SRR LLC       Terms of Use  |  Privacy Policy  |  SRR Home